Skip To Main Content
Hewlett-Woodmere Public Schools

Logo Title

Digital Fluency and Computer Science


Computer Science and Digital Fluency

In December of 2020, the New York State Education Department (NYSED) approved the Computer Science and Digital Fluency Standards.  There are five concept areas; Impacts of Computing, Computational Thinking, Networks and System Design, Cybersecurity, and Digital Literacy.

Each concept contains two or more sub-concepts and within the sub-concepts are a number of standards. The standards are grouped into grade-bands:  K-1, 2-3, 4-6, 7-8, and 9-12. Instruction in the standards must be implemented so as to allow students to achieve the applicable standards by the end of the band.

The Computer Science and Digital Fluency Standards at a Glance documents are two-page snapshots of the standards by grade band.